The Woodcarving

In my last post, I teased you a little with a “moody” picture of a lonely mitten. Now, I am delighted to share with you a few photos full of sunshine of a colourful pair of mittens. And I must say, I’m rather proud of these!

The Woodcarving - ©Aurelie Colas

The Woodcarving – ©Aurelie Colas

Below is the little blurb I put together to tell you about the inspiration behind the mittens…

Inside Castle Fraser (Scotland) is a little room, with a woodcarving of a standard-bearer sheep in a recess on the wall. Of French origins, the Fraser family descends from continental settlers, as part of the Norman infiltration in the 12th century. This Scottish standard-bearer sheep is strangely similar to the emblem of the large city of Rouen, in Normandy (France).

These cosy mittens link both sheep, as they face each other and proudly stand on the back of the hand. Stranded throughout, with a thin knitted lining, The Woodcarving mittens are worked with Shetland wool, as a nod to the French standard-bearer sheep, symbol of the guild of drapers and woollen cloth traders.

Intriguing, don’t you think?

The Woodcarving - ©Aurelie Colas

The Woodcarving – ©Aurelie Colas

The outer shell is knitted with 12 lovely colours from the Jamieson’s of Shetland Shetland Spindrift amazing range of colours. The lining is knitted with one colour of the Jamieson’s Ultra (laceweight) for added warmth and cosiness. Should the 12 colours scare you, don’t hesitate to substitute them for a single foreground colour, a single background colour, and a touch of contrast on the braids! Gradients (especially handspun!) look really lovely too…

The Woodcarving - ©Aurelie Colas

The Woodcarving – ©Aurelie Colas

Should you want to knit a pair of these special mittens, for you, or as a gift for a loved one, you can find the pattern for sale on Ravelry here. To thank you for reading our blog and bearing with my multiple digressions, please enjoy 20% off with the code blogreader (valid until Dec 7th).

Many thanks, and happy knitting!

Aurelie / spinnygonzalez

 

PS: Did you notice the disappearing cookie? That’s the fate of the Little Man.
PPS: And yes, of course this coffee was all mine! 🙂

The Woodcarving - ©Aurelie Colas

The Woodcarving – ©Aurelie Colas

 

This entry was posted in British Yarn, Design, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Woodcarving

  1. Gillian says:

    Absolutely stunning!

  2. MrsEgg13 says:

    What a lovely story of connection between France and Scotland. (Of course, the best Française/ Ecosse connection is you and Whippety.) The mittens are so beautiful! I visited Rouen in 2007 and these would be the perfect late memento of that meaningful trip. Merci, Aurelie!

    • spinnygonzalez says:

      Thank you very much. I am so glad that you enjoy the story behind the mittens. Rouen is a pretty city, and I find it so interesting that its emblem should be a sheep. Thank you. Aurelie x

      PS: Love your highland coo on your (g)ravatar!

      • MrsEgg13 says:

        Thank you! He is the main bull at Glamis. Just seconds after that picture was taken he tried to gore me! Fortunately, I had a Karate Kid flashback in time to deflect his horns. 😉 I do adore highland coos!
        Now that I have purchased the pattern, I am delighted to learn even more background information. Any city that has sheep for the official emblem is a good city, in my sheep-loving opinion!

      • spinnygonzalez says:

        Oh lucky you! He’s a very handsome guy though! Reminds me… I took a very very close-up picture of a coo a few years ago. I was by her head, she was on the road, so no fence. I turned my back and she gave a big head shake… and one horn ended up hitting my hand. It was just a little sore, but I think I was lucky. She probably didn’t approve of the photography!

        Very happy that you enjoyed the longer version of the little story of the standard-bearer sheep. I agree with your standard regarding cities with sheep for emblem 🙂

  3. Pingback: Indie Design Gift-Along: Chevrons everywhere | The Auld (Woolly) Alliance

Leave a Reply

