Great British Sock Yarn, Inventors and Scientists

In my previous post, I teased you gently about a few exciting things coming up shortly… Well, one of them has just gone public, so I can unveil it!

 

But first, I would like to tell you about someone special. I met this person once, at a little yarn festival in Chester in 2012. I doubt she would recognise me if we had the chance to meet again in real life, because I was quite shy and I’m not even sure I introduced myself. And if I did, it was probably along the lines of “hi, I’m Aurelie and I’m addicted to your yarn. May I look at your stall and buy more, pretty please?”

Her name? Joy. But you may know her as The Knitting Goddess. If I had to present Joy, I would probably say that she is the independent dyer responsible for my addiction to sock knitting, and to sock yarn in general. At least 90-95% of the socks in rotation in my sock drawer are knitted with her yarn, and most of my (rather large) sock yarn stash comes from her dye pots. And because she doesn’t dye only sock yarn, I also own quite a few skeins in some of her other yarn weights too…

Recently things got even more exciting on the sock yarn front, and fingering weight in general. Joy and her partner have sourced some 100% British yarn bases, with wool grown and spun in the UK. This is very exciting and appeals to my desire to reduce carbon footprint and help sustain the British industry. It is also a great way to ensure that yarn is produced with high standards, and with fair wages to those involved in the production of the yarn, as well as reducing the impact on the environment (especially if you compare with mass produced yarn, with wool travelling from around the world, spun in an emerging country at best, and made superwash with some questionable chemical process). Would I prefer to buy British yarn? Yes, please!

Recently, I have enjoyed using Joy’s new 4ply High Twist 100% Bluefaced Leicester in the first two designs of the Castle Fraser collection (Windows and Balustrades, and Balustrades and Slates). I was also very lucky to knit with one of the first batches of the new British sock yarn (45% British Bluefaced Leicester and 30% mixed British wool, 25% nylon), for the semi-solid turquoise sock in the pair of Grillage socks. Finally, the Britsock yarn is Joy’s “oldest” British yarn among the fingering weight bases. And although I have not used it yet in a design, I have knitted a couple pairs of plain vanilla socks using the self-striping Britsock… and these are the warmest socks I own! The alpaca content is like magic.

As you can tell, I am quite addicted to Joy’s yarn, and have been a faithful customer ever since I started knitting socks. Of course, when I started designing socks, it was only natural that I used Joy’s yarn too (remember that my sock yarn stash is mostly from the Knitting Goddess…).

 

Imagine my surprise when I received an email from Joy, asking whether I would be interested to be one of the designers for her upcoming sock club in 2015. To say that her request made me fall from my chair is an understatement, and I am extremely grateful that someone as talented as her would trust my little brain and my clicking needles.

drum roll please…

Today, Joy revealed her yarn clubs for 2015, with subscriptions soon to be made available in her shop. I will design 6 sock patterns, alongside the very talented and world-famous Rachel Coopey (eeek, this is slightly scary for me!). After a little brainstorming session around the theme of “Great British Sock Club”, I suggested a theme for my 6 designs: “Great British Scientist and Inventors“. Joy liked the idea, and my little grey cells came up with 6 “subjects” within this larger theme, which will use 6 semi-solid colours from the cooler end of the colour spectrum.

This is all I’m allowed to tell you for now… But all this is very exciting, isn’t it?

 

Sock-ly yours,
Aurelie / spinnygonzalez

 

PS: Should you want to join one of Joy’s clubs (and perhaps the sock club featuring my designs?), please note that sign-ups will open on November 16th in the Knitting Goddess’ shop.

This entry was posted in British Yarn, Design, Knitting, Socks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Great British Sock Yarn, Inventors and Scientists

  1. Gillian says:

    Congratulations Aurelie! What a wonderful opportunity for your amazing talents:) Yesterday I started knitting your Grillage sock and am enjoying it very much.

  2. Jeny says:

    So looking forward to this. Can’t wait to see who you’ve picked. There are a couple I’m secretly hoping for.

    • spinnygonzalez says:

      Thank you Jeny! I have a list of names and themes, and a little sketch for each of them, yes… but can’t say anything 🙂

      I hope I will have picked at least one from your favourite ones! If I do (or if I don’t), please let me know who that was (or who I missed!). The lists of British scientists and inventors are rather long, and it was a tough choice! x

  3. Margaret says:

    That is fantastic news Aurelie, and congratulations!

Leave a Reply

