What I didn’t tell you about Sock Madness: Rainbow Pipes and Linen Stitch

Not long ago, as March had just started, I told you about Sock Madness, this fun online (sock-) knitting competition where camaraderie is the centre of it all. Well, I might have omitted to tell you of one thing. But for my defence, I was not allowed to!

What I didn’t tell you is that one of the rounds of the competition would feature a design from me. The design was revealed on Monday (April 14th, about 4pm UK time) and I am quite proud of it:

Rainbow Pipes and Linen Stitch Socks ©Aurelie Colas

Rainbow Pipes and Linen Stitch Socks – ©Aurelie Colas

Rainbow Pipes and Linen Stitch socks, which can be worn cuff up, or folded down! The little blurb to introduce them runs as follows:

Knit colourful and happy stripes in your socks, and sing “somewhere over the rainbow

A few words about…
Linen stitch: it provides a wonderful texture similar to that of woven fabric. Playing with colours adds a new dimension to linen stitch, and creates a fabric that is equally lovely fabrics on both sides. This naturally led me to create socks that would best show the two fabrics by wearing the cuff up, or folded down.

I-cords: they can be addictive. Knitting a very long I-cord is not appealing, but combining short I-cords in multiple colours opens the door to playing with colours in another way. And helps create the perfect tab for a cuff too!

Rainbow Pipes and Linen Stitch Socks ©Aurelie Colas

Rainbow Pipes and Linen Stitch Socks – Cuff up, or folded down!
©Aurelie Colas

Of course, to remain in the competition, I have to knit another pair myself, and attempt to finish in time as there are 33 knitters per team this round, and only 26 spots available… This time, I chose white as the main colour, and the recipient (if I ever finish them) is Janice (of course!). On Wednesday, here is where I was.

Rainbow Pipes - Some progress

Rainbow Pipes – Some progress

At this point, Sunday 7pm, the fastest team has only one spot left! And in my team, 19 knitters at least have completed their socks, so there are 7 spots left maximum! Crazy, huh? And I am nowhere near done… So I am very doubtful I will make the cut, but I will try.

Rainbow Pipes - Some more progress...

Rainbow Pipes – Where I am on Sunday evening…

Suspense is high! Will I make it?

 

Aurelie/spinnygonzalez

This entry was posted in Design, Knitting, Socks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I didn’t tell you about Sock Madness: Rainbow Pipes and Linen Stitch

  1. whippety says:

    The suspense is killing me….will my feet be cosy in April 2014? Or maybe April 2015!

  2. Pingback: Where did May go? | The Auld (Woolly) Alliance

Leave a Reply

