Oh, Darn!

This morning was like many other mornings: I  started folding the laundry away. There was “regular” laundry (what goes in the washing machine), and “woollies” laundry (handwashed). So, there were lots of socks, from both laundries, as I handwash and maching-wash socks, depending on the yarn they’re made of.

So, there I was, folding the laundry while listening to some podcast (most probably), when I noticed a weird shadow on one sock. And not any sock… my first (and only) pair of socks made of handspun yarn! I looked closer: nothing too bad, a stitch had got thin or caught on something, and broke. I carefully put them away to be fixed later with duplicate stitch.

A hole on the ball of the foot of my Da Treehouse!

A hole on the ball of the foot of my Da Treehouse!

And I continue folding my socks, this time inspecting them a little closer. And there it was: another pair of socks, some of my favourite socks: my Da Treehouse socks (a design from Adrienne Fong and Debi Woods). With a hole in one sock! And some dangerously thin parts in other places too! These are special socks, which have been on my feet on some days I’ll never forget. Definitely, I was not ready to get rid of them. And the hole was quite small anyway.

I had noticed that I’d been a little harder on my socks recently. I guess it’s due to the different flooring surfaces compared to our previous place. Still, it’s never really pleasant to find a hole in your hand knitted socks. Especially in your favourite, best fitting or most comfortable socks. So I thought I’d be brave, and attempt some darning.

I got myself a darning “mushroom”, as it was the only thing that could be found in my local haberdashery place. One day, I hope to upgrade to a proper “egg”, perhaps more appropriate for the shape of the socks.

And I got busy.

First I fixed my handspun socks (stupidly didn’t think of taking pictures to show you the progress…), as I could go away with duplicate stitch on that small hole. It gave me confidence that I could fix bigger holes. I was about to fold them… and noticed a second hole! I tend to wear my socks on two spots: the ball of the foot (on the outside of the foot), and under the big toe. I know, I’m weird like that. So sure enough, that second hole (bigger) was under the big toe. I managed to fix it again with some duplicate stitch, albeit not quite as pretty.

Then I moved to the “da Treehouse” socks. First, I worked on the sock with no hole, but with a very thin area at the same spot, and I reinforced it with duplicate stitches.

Duplicate stitches over a thin area, to prevent future holes to appear

Duplicate stitches over a thin area, to prevent future holes to appear

Then, I took care of the hole. And I tried to be careful and weave yarn to make a patch, first weaving horizontally, picking one leg of each stitch (and the other leg on the alternate rows). And then weaving in the other direction, going above and below the horizontal “lines”.

That will do until the next hole

That will do until the next hole!

Finally, I reinforced the area under the big toe, where the yarn was getting thin too. In the process, I have learned to like this little mushroom. It’s not the best for socks, probably. But it was better than nothing, definitely!

I am by no means good at darning. I am just learning. I am probably not working “the right way”. But like any other craft, I’ll learn from trials and errors…

So that will do… Until the next hole!

What about you? What do you do with your socks if they get hole-y?


Edit: A recent article from Twist Collective has been recommended for me to read on the subject of darning, and I thought I’d share it with you. Of course, I found about it after I had “fixed” my socks. But I will probably refer to it again for my next darning session!

This entry was posted in Knitting, Make do and mend, Socks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh, Darn!

  1. Pingback: Of Blanket, Socks, Madness and Sharks | The Auld (Woolly) Alliance

Leave a Reply

