Woolfest – Episode 3, ‘Just a little yarn’

My woolly friend indicated in her last post that I may have bought ‘just a little yarn’ on my trip to Woolfest.  To be honest, I am quite proud of the quantity of yarn ‘found’ in my return luggage. In weight….not much really….500grams, give or take…

Cecilia's Handspun Yarn -  85% Blue Faced Leicester, 15% silk

Cecilia’s Handspun Yarn
85% Blue Faced Leicester, 15% silk

As is usual for this type of outing, I took cash.  Along with a vow that this would stop any overspend…….do you see how sensible I am? However, my loyal woolly friend suggested it would be wise to take a cheque book, ‘just in case’.  Just in case what, I thought.?

100% Pure New Wool Grown in Orkney from The North Ronaldsay Breed of Sheep

100% Pure New Wool Grown in Orkney from
The North Ronaldsay Breed of Sheep

Then I started to think and perhaps over analyse a little…….what if the train became derailed on route, forcing us to take a taxi?

What if we were mugged? What if I had to use my cash to buy additional chocolate or cake?  It seemed that many possible scenario’s could rob me of my cash and stop any necessary woolly purchases. Eek! I was horrified at prospect.   In fact, the mere idea brought me out in a cold sweat.  (Which at my time of life is unusual!)

My woolly friend regularly provides sensible and valuable advice……. so obviously I always listen!  (Although, I often forget it five minutes later!)

Jillybean Yarns - On left, 'Got the Giggles' Gotland/Blue Faced Leicester Blend, on right, 'Rainbow Spin' Shetland/Blue Faced Leicester Blend

Jillybean Yarns – On left, ‘Got the Giggles’, Gotland/Blue Faced Leicester Blend. On right, ‘Rainbow Spin’, Shetland/Blue Faced Leicester Blend

And so, the cheque book came too.  Thank goodness!  My cash ran out half way through the exhibitors. Without the excellent advice provided, I could only have drooled at Jillybeans Yarns. Instead, I took a couple of skeins home to gaze at, and occasionally stroke and sniff. (Yes, I am truly a knitting geek!)

All in all, we had a great day. I may not have admitted to all my purchases…..yet. But then, I am not the only one!

PS. Look out for future posts on yarn sniffing.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Woolfest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

